Residential tenants and landlords both have rights and obligations under Arkansas law. These regulations have been put into place to protect both parties. Beforing handing the keys over to a tenant, you should always start with a free rental application and ask for a tenant credit report. The process is quick and easy with VerticalRent. After you approve them as a tenant in Arkansas, follow the rules and regulations below:
Arkansas Tenant Rights and Obligations
- One rental period must be given before raising the rent.
- Before subleasing an apartment or house, approval from the landlord along with rent amount must be obtained.
- Abide by all responsibilities in rental agreement
- Keep residence safe and clean
- When moving out, notice must be given according to lease provisions or if there is no lease, one rental period’s notice is required.
Landlord Rights in Arkansas
- Notice of lease termination may be given for any reason within 30 days.
- All property left by a tenant after lease termination will be considered abandoned and becomes the property of the landlord.
Arkansas Entry Rules
There are many situations in which a landlord may enter the dwelling at any time, including:
- Maintenance reasons.
- Pest control treatment.
- Showing the residence to potential new occupants.
- Emergency entry. Should a landlord suspect an emergency situation, they may enter the residence.
Maintenance and Repair
- Rentals are considered “as is.” However, they must remain compliant to city building codes for health and safety reasons.
- Arkansas law states the security deposit cannot be more than two months’ rent.
- After moving out of a rental, the landlord must return the security deposit within 60 days. However, if there are damages to the dwelling or past due rent, the security deposit may be used for those expenses. The landlord must provide an itemized list of any charges withheld.
- Late rent payments or failing to pay are grounds for eviction.
- A landlord must provide five days’ written notice to evict for late or non-payment. If the tenant fails to leave, the landlord can sue. The tenant has five days after receiving the court summons to object to the eviction. If no objection is filed, the county sheriff can remove the tenant.
- No notice is necessary to evict for implicit violation of lease terms.
Following these laws will create a positive relationship between the landlord and tenant.
About the author
Matt Angerer is the Founder and President of VerticalRent. He enjoys writing on a variety of topics that help Landlords, Property Managers, and Renters across America. He is particularly interested in helping renters understand their local marketplace, pick the best places to live, and find an awesome roommate. Since 2011, VerticalRent has grown to service over 100,000 landlords and renters across America.