So you have a property within the state of Alaska that you want to rent out. Be it extra room in your home or a separate property such as a single-family home, condo, apartment, or other separate property there are some laws that you need to know. These are the laws that protect your tenant and dictate the rights of your tenant. So read up and know the rules that are in place to protect your tenants:
Disclosing Information to Your Tenant:
As the landlord you are required to release certain information to the tenant upon them staying in your rental property. In the state of Alaska, this information includes the legal name of the owner of the property, any extended absences that will make the landlord unable to come to the property for an extended period of time (more than 7 days), and the amount of security deposit required on this property.
Security Deposit Return:
The law prohibits the landlord to charge a tenant more than 2 months worth of rent upfront unless the monthly rent on the property exceeds $2,000/month.
Assuming the tenant and all of their property vacate the property according to the proper notice that was required according to the rental agreement, the landlord must return all security deposits within 14 days of the tenant vacating the property.
If the tenant fails to provide proper notice or if the tenant and their property have to vacate the premises for any other reasons than those provided the landlord must return all security deposits within 30 days of the tenant vacating the property.
Going to Small Claims Court:If a landlord is taken to small claims court the most they can be sued for is $10,000.
Requirement to Raise Rent or Change Rent Rules:
If the landlord is going to raise the rent on the property (including late check and bounced-check fees) the landlord must give the tenant a minimum of 30 days notice. This also requires the landlord to state how long the tenant has to pay the rent or move, which is 7 days according to Alaska law.
Termination & Eviction Notices:
If a tenant is convicted of illegal activity on the premises they have 5 days to vacate them and themselves from the property before an eviction can be filed.
Any landlord who is to enter a tenant's property must provide 24 hours notice to the tenant of their intended entry.